New Members Inducted Into NHS During Tapping Ceremony

On Wednesday November 29th at 9 A.M, Bellaire High School hosted its National Honor Society Tapping Ceremony, and new members were inducted. Members are chosen by a committee that uses a student’s academic achievements, community service hours and character as a standard.

Last year’s inductees include President Alexandria Street, Vice President Shannon Shiflett, Activities Coordinator Liliana Yocum, Treasurer Richard Johnston, Secretary Gracie Patterson, Jacob Bellville, Mason Ramsay, Gabe Rejonis , Robert Silber, and Chase Yoho. The sophomore ushers for this event were Katrina Davis, Tayah Frazier, Madison Hotlosz, and Tenley Hughes.

First, our Bellaire High School Choir sang the National Anthem to open the assembly. Liliana Yocum and Alex Street welcomed students and parents to the event. Shannon Shiflett explained the qualifications for membership into the organization. Then, Gracie Patterson described the lighting of the torch. Richard Johnston discussed the importance of character, and Street spoke about scholarship. Shiflett explained the important leadership roles, and Yocum spoke about community service.

Next, Shiflett, Street, and Yocum read the biographies of the new members. The new inductees are seniors Scott Mehlman and Mackenzie Morris; and juniors, Collin Anastasia, Brittney Beckett, Jacob Clark, Maci Crozier, Lizzy Diehl, Lindsay Hess, Robert Hicks, Zachary Kolenich, Cole LaRoche, Christopher Morgan, Clayton Roskovich, Cameron Ross, Cole Runyan, Natalie Stoner, Sydney Purtiman and Aleyna Zwack. Then, Street lead the old and new members in the NHS Pledge. Yocum explained and lead the NHS Candle Ceremony and all new members lit their candle. Honorary members are Giovanna Oliverira, Madison Street and Xiaoqing “DeeMo” Yu.

Finally, our Bellaire High School Choir closed the ceremony by singing the Bellaire High School Alma Mater. All members of NHS gathered with their parents in the cafeteria to celebrate.

Article by Jordan Doughty’18 and Chase Yoho ‘18


Row 1 – Robert Silber, Liliana Yocum, Gracie Patterson, Alexandria Street, Shannon Shiflett, Richard Johnston,
Mason Ramsay. Row 2 – Gabe Rejonis, Mackenzie Morris, Lizzy Diehl, Lindsay Hess, Christopher Morgan,
Brittney Beckett, Maci Crozier, Clayton Roskovich, Aleyna Zwack, Sydney Purtiman, Chase Yoho
Row 3 – Jacob Bellville, Scott Mehlman, Collin Anastasia, Zachary Kolenich, Jacob Clark,
Cole Runyan, Cole LaRoche, Cameron Ross

Photo by Hannah D'Aquila '18

Back to School News      Print News Article